CAN SOMEONE PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE.

Home Forums Scrap Metal Discussions Scrap Metal Q & A CAN SOMEONE PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE.

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by johnc johnc 9 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

CHULIPA
    Participant

I have been collecting scrap brass and copper for 2 years now. I have a few 55 gallion drums full of the stuff.

Being new to this I don’t know what to do as in, sell it all at 1 time, or sell it little bit at a time.

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE.

joshua80
    Participant

Sell it all at once. Be sure to use the iscrap app to check prices at local scrap yards. Once you find the yard with the best prices make sure you have your number one and number 2 copper seperated from each other to get the most for your load. Also make sure all your brass is seperate and you dont have any brass fittings on your copper as it will be down graded to dirty copper.

Agree with Josh. It is best to sell it all at once. Check the prices with the iScrap App  and your local yards. The copper prices just jumped a bit so it may be a good time to sell now before they dip down again.

James Abrams
    Participant

Have you separated it. There are different types of brass. Red brass, yellow brass, Irony or dirty brass, and ferrous brass which is mainly steel with brass on it some scrapyards will buy that at a higher rate than the regular steel depending on how much steel contamination there is. Most of the times segregating out the different types of material you have can get you more money when you sell. Bring a sample of the different types of brass you have to your local yard and they should be able to tell you what they will pay for each type. Keep Scrappin!

jason swallow
    jason swallow
    Participant