Electronics cables are what type?

Home Forums Scrap Metal Discussions E-Scrap Scrapping Section Electronics cables are what type?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  JardCrocker 3 weeks, 2 days ago.

• Author

RFiehler
    Participant

HI,

I am just getting started in scrapping. I have access to a lot of electronics cables and cords. Are they worth scrapping? There are so many classifications, I’m not sure what they are considered. Is it worth taking the time to strip them? Or just remove the ends?

Please help. I am anxious to get started but don’t know the best way.
    Thanks.
    Roni

Yes they are worth scrapping. They will usually go as a insulated wire price. It is worth it to take the ends off and check if your scrap yard can accept them separately for a different price (usually a lot less).

See details on insulated wire here: http://iscrapapp.com/metals/insulated-copper-wire/

10FingersAnd10Toes
    10FingersAnd10Toes
    Participant

These are official categories but they are how I divide mine up. Note: Boardsort.com will buy gold plated cable ends so I cut off the ends on network cables, Serial, Parallel, Printer, etc.

1. Any cables from the inside of a computer, appliances, TV, etc except power supply wires. Remove ends, separating out the ones with gold ends label as insulated data cabling.
    2. Power supply wiring – sorted out as Insulated Copper wire
    3. For power supply cables, cables that connect the device to the power outlet, and larger diameter cables. I cutoff the ends (the blades are often chromed brass) and strip the cable using a manual wiring striping block from TNT Tooling. Stripped wire classed as #1 and #2TNT Manual Wire Stripping Block

mrbenaka
    Participant

So inside the computer the ones with gold ends will actually be labeled as insulated data cabling? And are those ones you sell to Boardsort.com?

With power supply cables, how do I know if it’s supposed to be classed as #1 or #2?