Refrigerators

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  bnc54 2 weeks ago.

• Author

brandonhamilton94
    Participant

Hello guys and gals.
    I’m brand new to scrapping and wanted to get started as a form of supplemental income and a hobby. Conveniently, I have a large scrap yard a mile away from my house so it makes runs very convenient and cost-effective. My question is, my yard requires that I have a company come and remove Freon from any refrigerant items that I may have. My question is, is there a cost-effective way to remove Freon to where it would still be worth my time to pick up refrigerators? Or is this something I should pass up? Thanks in advance

Anonymous

brandonhamilton94, Cost effective and refrigerant removal (it’s actually called reclaiming) are two phrases that can not be used in the same sentence, it becomes and oxymoron when you do.

I owned a Mechanical Contracting Company for many years and have a Master Mechanical license, Class A Mechanical Contractors license and a Universal Certification issued by the REPA, Inc. (Refrigeration Environmental Protection Association, Inc.).

Being Universally Certified means I am trained and able to work with and purchase any and all refrigerates that exist, including Refrigerant grade anhydrous ammonia which is 99.95% pure ammonia which is very hard to work with and extremely dangerous!

Universal Certifications are very hard to get and there are not very many who are Universal Certified. I’m not sure if they even issue Universal Certifications anymore. Anyway, I tell you this so you know that when I talk refrigerants there’s no hip, just plain, pure fact.